Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

New director appointed to Napier Port board

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

Napier Port has welcomed a new director to the board table, with Diana Puketapu appointed as a non-executive director.

Ms Puketapu brings a broad background in commercial, iwi and sports governance to the role. She currently sits on the board of the Tāmaki Redevelopment Company and Manawanui in Charge. Originally from Napier, Ms Puketapu is of Ngāti Porou descent. She is a director of Ngāti Porou Holding Company, the iwi’s asset holding and investment entity. She is also a board member for the New Zealand Olympic Committee and NZ Cricket, in addition to being an independent consultant on the Audit and Financial Risk Committee for specialist insurer and reinsurer CBL Corporation.

Ms Puketapu has previously served as a director for Auckland Council Investments Ltd and the World Masters Games 2017. A Chartered Accountant, she was formerly the Chief Financial Officer of Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei Corporate. Napier Port Chairman Alasdair MacLeod welcomed the appointment, which was recommended by the Hawke’s Bay Regional Investment Company and given final approval by the Hawke’s Bay Regional Council. "Diana brings a wealth of financial acumen complemented by experience across a diverse range of organisations. I’m confident that she will be a strong voice at the table, and we are looking forward to having her as a member of the board."

Diana is based in Auckland and joins Napier Port at time of rapid growth and development.

"I’m passionate about improving the lives of New Zealanders, iwi and the local communities in which we live. Napier Port plays a critical role in connecting Central New Zealand to the world, and I’m looking forward to being part of its growth and development."

Diana Puketapu replaces Jon Nicols, who retired by rotation after serving ten years on the board. She joins existing directors Wendie Harvey, Chinthaka Abeywickrama, Stephen Bradford, Stephen Moir and chairman Alasdair MacLeod.

Existing director Stephen Bradford was also confirmed for a further three-year term at the Napier Port AGM on Monday 11 December. Based in Australia, Mr Bradford is a former chief executive of Port of Melbourne Corporation and is currently chairman of Tasmanian Ports Corporation. 

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us through our contact form if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.