Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

InternetNZ Announces Council Election Results

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media
InternetNZ Announces Council Election Results

3 August 2009 - InternetNZ (Internet New Zealand Inc) announces official results in this year's InternetNZ Council elections.

Interim results were announced at the Society's Annual General Meeting last Friday, with final results now confirmed. There were 21 nominations for six vacancies on Council. Official results are as follows:

Frank March has been elected President of InternetNZ, succeeding Pete Macaulay. Jamie Baddeley has been elected Vice President. Both will serve a three-year term.

Hamish MacEwan, Michael Foley, Judy Speight and Liz Butterfield have been re-elected to their Councillor positions. MacEwan and Foley will each serve a three-year term. Speight and Butterfield will each serve a one-year term.

The election of Baddeley to the Vice President's position has created a vacant seat on Council. The details of a by-election to fill this seat will be announced by Friday 7 August.

New President Frank March says this year was one of the most keenly contested InternetNZ elections, with a pool of excellent candidates putting their names forward.

"I warmly congratulate the successful candidates. They all have strong Internet-related track records and a passion for the goals of InternetNZ. I look forward to working and deliberating with them on Council."

March also acknowledges the valuable contribution made to the Society by outgoing Council member Stewart Fleming, who failed to secure re-election.

"Stewart has provided valuable contributions to the work of the InternetNZ Council. I thank him for his efforts and hope that he will continue to be involved in other roles."

The new-look InternetNZ Council is:

President: Frank March

Vice President: Jamie Baddeley

Councillors: Chris Streatfield Donald Clark Hamish MacEwan Jonny Martin Judy Speight Liz Butterfield Michael Foley Michael Wallmannsberger Neil James

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.