Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds' new album Ghosteen out now

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

Ghosteen, the new two part album from Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds, is out now across all digital platforms. Vinyl and CD will be released on Friday 8 November, pre-order now at The first chance to listen to the new album, Ghosteen premiered globally in full this morning on YouTube, accompanied by a video revealing words and lyrics in a beautiful, ethereal cloudscape that shifted in colour and made subtle references to each song, watch here. In addition, listening sessions simultaneously took place in independent record shops across the world, with fans gathering to experience the music together.

The album was first revealed by Nick Cave on The Red Hand Files in direct response to a question from a fan. Track Listing:

Part OnePart Two

1 Spinning Song4:441 Ghosteen12:11

2 Bright Horses4.532 Fireflies3:233 Waiting for You3:553 Hollywood14:13

4 Night Raid5:08

5 Sun Forest6:48

6 Galleon Ship4:15

7 Ghosteen Speaks4:03

8 Leviathan4:48

‘The songs on the first album are the children. The songs on the second album are their parents. Ghosteen is a migrating spirit.’

Nick Cave The album was recorded in 2018 and early 2019 at Woodshed in Malibu, Nightbird in Los Angeles, Retreat in Brighton and Candybomber in Berlin. It was mixed by Nick Cave, Warren Ellis, Lance Powell and Andrew Dominik at Conway in Los Angeles. Cover painting by Tom duBois. Nick Cave - vocals, piano, synthesizer, backing vocal

Warren Ellis - synthesizer, loops, flute, violin, piano, backing vocals Thomas Wydler - drums

Martyn Casey - bass

Jim Sclavunos - vibraphone, percussion

George Vjestica - guitar Ghosteen is the seventeenth studio album from Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds, following 2016’s Skeleton Tree, and is released via Ghosteen Ltd. Nick Cave is currently in North America on his Conversations tour.

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.