Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Chapman Tripp Theatre Awards: Winners Announced

Read More:
Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media
Chapman Tripp Theatre Awards: Winners Announced

The winners of the 18th annual Chapman Tripp Theatre Awards were named last night, with Auckland-based Wellingtonian Arthur Meek scooping the major prizes for his production Collapsing Creation.

Collapsing Creation, which ran at Downstage Theatre November 5 to 28, won the premier category of the Chapman Tripp Award for Best Production, along with three other categories from nine nominations. All winners and categories are listed on following pages.

Theatre stalwart Bill Sheat was honoured as the recipient of the Mayor's Award for Significant Contribution to the Theatre. The accolade recognises the lifetime achievements and commitment by someone who is a pioneer in the performing arts. Since 1964, the Wellington lawyer has held posts on a variety of arts bodies, from the Queen Elizabeth II Arts Council and the NZ Film Commission, to the Embassy Theatre and NZ Theatre Trusts, to chairing the Royal NZ Ballet and Shakespeare Globe Centre NZ.

In other significant categories, The Blackening's Jed Brophy picked up the Gail Cowan Management and Odd Management Award for Best Actor, and the Museum Hotel Award for Best Director was shared by Leo Gene Peters (Death and the Dreamlife of Elephants) and Tim Spite (Biography of my Skin).

The award ceremony was held at Wellington's St James Theatre and was followed by dinner and entertainment, provided by Ruth Pretty Catering and band The Canaps, respectively.

Taika Cohen, whose latest feature film Boy was recently selected in competition to the prestigious Sundance Film Festival, hosted the event, which was produced by Mark Westerby.

100 theatre productions qualified for this year's awards, judged in 19 categories. Judges John Smythe (Theatreview), Lynn Freeman (Capital Times), Laurie Atkinson (The Dominion Post), Uther Dean (Salient), Helen Sims (Lumiere) and Elspeth Sandys (The Listener) judged the categories, with Harry Ricketts serving as arbiter.

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.