Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Music: APRA Silver Scroll Awards 2008

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media
Music: APRA Silver Scroll Awards 2008

10 July 2008 - The APRA Silver Scroll Award has been presented since 1965 and as an event, is a highly anticipated evening on the nation""'s music industry calendar.

The Silver Scroll will be presented at the invite only event held on September 10th at Auckland""'s magnificent Town Hall.

APRA (the Australasian Performing Right Association)* are proud to announce the top 20 songs eligible for New Zealand""'s most prestigious songwriting award.

Anthony Healey, APRA""'s Director of New Zealand Operations: """The music world is changing rapidly, but great songs remain at its heart. All these songs are examples of our independence and our diversity."""

As the only peer voted music award in New Zealand, this award is no popularity contest or industry competition. Peer voting for the winner of the APRA Silver Scroll is all about songwriters recognising the outstanding achievements of their cohorts and honouring the craft of songwriting.

An anonymous panel of writers have convened the preliminary list below; it is now down to the 6,000+ New Zealand APRA Members """ the nation""'s songwriters and composers """ to elect their 2008 songwriting champion.

"""This year, there were more songs entered than ever before.""" noted Healey, """The writers are both familiar faces and unknowns, some at the beginning and others in the midst of their songwriting careers. Songwriting in New Zealand is in good stead."""

The top 20 list of songs from the last year include relative new comers Iva Lamkum, Lauren Thomson, the lads from Collapsing Cities and Nick Buckton aka Side Kick Nick. It highlights the constantly high standard of writing from previous year""'s finalists and winners; Liam Finn, Opshop, Wayne Mason, Dave Dobbyn, Geoff Maddock of Goldenhorse and Anika Moa. Plus, some long-time-coming nods for Elemeno P, The Phoenix Foundation and Shihad.

For the five eventual finalists (to be announced in August), the evening is extra special as their work is performed by another artist on the night of the Silver Scroll celebration. These special collaborations and performances are what make the APRA Silver Scroll Awards so unique.

And is if that""'s not enough to ensure a sublime evening of performance and celebration; it""'s also the place that another surprise inauguration into the newly established New Zealand Music Hall of Fame is made.

Soon to be it""'s own stand alone event in conjunction with RIANZ, Healey states; """The New Zealand Music Hall of Fame ensures that we""'re dedicated to preserving and acknowledging the contribution that our colleagues have made towards shaping and influencing New Zealand culture in a significant way. If the standing ovation that Jordan Luck received last year is any indication, we are right to celebrate such significant people alongside their musical counterparts at an event like the Silver Scroll Awards."""

The Top 20 contenders for the 2008 APRA Silver Scroll are listed below. Voting opens for APRA Members from 9am Friday July 11, via, where you are able to listen to and read each songs lyrics. Song Title Writer/Composer(s) Performed by Baby Come On Dave Gibson & Justyn Pilbrow Elemeno P Bright Grey Samuel Scott, Luke Buda, Tom Wedde, William Ricketts, Richard Singleton & Warner Emery The Phoenix Foundation Butterflies John Chong Nee & Delani Tuala Delani Dreams In My Head Anika Moa Anika Moa Gather To The Chapel Liam Finn Liam Finn If I Say Sam Trenwith Radiator Life Will Get Better Some Day Kody Nielson The Mint Chicks One Day Jason Kerrison, Bobby Kennedy, Matt Treacy & Clinton Harris Opshop One Will Hear The Other Jon Toogood, Tom Larkin, Phil Knight, Karl Kippenberger & Barry Palmer Shihad Our Love Is Due Lauren Thomson Lauren Thomson Purua Brannigan Kaa, Hone Kaa & Jo Paku Brannigan Kaa Saying My Name Geoff Maddock Goldenhorse Sense Got Out Wayne Mason Wayne Mason Seriously Steven Mathieson, Tim Van Dammen & James Brennan Collapsing Cities Tane Mahuta Ryan McPhun The Ruby Suns The Phone Song Nick Buckton Side Kick Nick These Roses Gin Wigmore Gin Walk Right Up Brent Park & Karoline Tamati Ladi6 White Roses Iva Lamkum, Caleb Robinson & Miles Crayford Iva Lamkum Wild Kisses Like Rain Dave Dobbyn Dave Dobbyn

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.