Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Veuve Clicquot Award Nominations Open For 2008

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

1 October 2008 - Nominations open for businesswomen's excellence award 1 October, close 1 December

The search is on again for a New Zealand businesswoman and entrepreneur with audacity and vision, as nominations open for New Zealand's second annual Veuve Clicquot Award.

This prestigious international accolade, which was launched in France in 1972, is presented in 18 countries including New Zealand. Entertainment entrepreneur Julie Christie was the recipient of the inaugural New Zealand award held in April 2008.

David Ridley, General Manager of Veuve Clicquot's local subsidiary in New Zealand, says the Veuve Clicquot Award celebrates the achievements of a New Zealand businesswoman who exemplifies the extraordinary qualities of Madame Clicquot, the woman behind the successful international champagne house Veuve Clicquot Ponsardin.

"We want the New Zealand public to nominate New Zealand businesswomen who truly embrace the values of Madame Clicquot. We're looking for women who display entrepreneurial drive; leadership skills; an ability to motivate and inspire others; to meet challenges, take risks and overcome obstacles to achieve success; with experience in managing a profitable company or organisation that has shown consistent financial success; a woman with charisma, individuality, style and tenacity."

"We are looking forward to receiving this year's nominations, after such a successful start last year. The New Zealand awards received more nominations in the inaugural year than are generally received in Australia."

As well as the honour of winning the award in New Zealand, the recipient will travel to Champagne, France, to join past and present laureates from other countries at the Veuve Clicquot Businesswomen's Meeting.

While in France, the winner will christen a vine in her own name and enrol as a Friend of the Widow. Each year thereafter she will receive a gift of La Grande Dame champagne, the company's prestige cuve release, produced from the vineyards owned by la Veuve Clicquot.

The person who nominates the successful candidate will receive 12 magnums of Veuve Clicquot Yellow Label Brut to celebrate. Nominations close on 1 December 2008. The winner will be announced at the Veuve Clicquot Award luncheon in Auckland during March 2009.

Members of the New Zealand judging panel include Rosanne Meo OBE, Chairman of Briscoe Group Limited, Chairman of AMP New Zealand and Deputy Chair of Baycorp Advantage; Sally Synnott, founder of Pumpkin Patch; Wellington's Catherine Savage, CEO of CMS Capital Ltd - an investment company specializing in private equity; Sharon Hunter, co-founder of PC Direct, project director for Robinhood Foundation; and on behalf of Veuve Clicquot Ponsardin, David Ridley.

Nomination forms and further information can be found at:

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.