Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Federation Establishment Board up and running

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

The Establishment Board tasked with setting up the proposed Federation of Primary Health Aotearoa New Zealand is now up and running under the chairmanship of Dame Annette King.

"I am delighted to be working with such passionate and committed professionals from across the sector who are already demonstrating their desire for real change in support of better outcomes for our communities. They will all contribute significantly to the broad skill set and expertise we will need to establish an inclusive Federation which will serve as a platform for integrated primary health with the people of New Zealand at the heart of its objectives.’ says Dame Annette King.

Following the announcement made on 20 February 2018 which confirmed the appointment of Dame Annette King as the chair of the Establishment Board, the first formal meeting of the Establishment Board took place on Tuesday 10 April 2018. During the meeting significant progress was made to support the work which had been underway since the sector summit held in Wellington on 16 February 2018.

The meeting included consideration of:

The Establishment Board Terms of Reference

The proposed Constitution of the Federation including its objectives, values and guiding principles

Interim requirements for project management and administrative support to underpin the Federation’s formal establishment

Annette King continued on to say "We are making great progress and in due course I look forward to being able to confirm our proposed commencement date and being able to issue our membership offering to the sector."

The Minutes of the meetings and the agreed Terms of Reference of the Establishment Board will be published shortly. The Board’s workplan will continue apace with the next formal meeting of the Establishment Board being scheduled for Monday 7 May 2018.

The members of the Establishment Board are confirmed as:

Dame Annette King, Independent chair

Dr Harley Aish, chair of ProCare Health Ltd

Dr Angus Chambers, chair of Christchurch PHO

Donovan Clarke, chief executive of Manaia Health PHO

Andrew Gaudin, chief executive of The Pharmacy Guild of New Zealand

Karen Guilliland, chief executive of The New Zealand College of Midwives

David Harrison, nursing director of East Health Trust PHO

Martin Hefford, chief executive of Compass Health

Susan Iverson, board member of Health Care Aotearoa

Hugh Kininmonth, chief executive of Hauraki PHO

Jennifer Pelvin, chair of Allied Health Aotearoa New Zealand

Richard Townley, chief executive of the Pharmaceutical Society of New Zealand

Mark Vela, chief executive of Total Healthcare Charitable Trust PHO

Teresa Wall, board member of Ora Toa PHO

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.