Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Maori Health Leaders Awarded

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media
Tariana Turia
Tariana Turia

Wellington, Nov 26 NZPA - Three Te Apa Mareikura Awards and two John McLeod Scholarships, recognising contribution to Maori health, were awarded today.

Associate Health Minister Tariana Turia today announced University of Auckland student Phillip Tane and University of Otago student Hori Barsdell as this year's John McLeod scholars.

The $10,000 John McLeod Scholarships are named after the late Dr John McLeod who was known his work in public health and his significant contribution toward improving Maori health status.

The scholarships are awarded annually to applicants to the Hauora Maori scholarship programme and given to individuals who have achieved outstanding academic success in Maori health.

Te Apa Mareikura Awards, also worth $10,000, went to Palmerston North-based Matiu Julian, Wanganui-based Pirihia Roberts and Whakatane-based Harata Te Amo-Simeon.

"These wonderful recipients have made an indelible mark in shaping the nature of the communities around them," Mrs Turia.

"I am told they are all multi-talented and multi-skilled and understand the collaboration and cooperation that is needed to create health and wellbeing in our communities."

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.