Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

New Mental Health Commission Chair Named

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

Associate Health Minister Jonathan Coleman today welcomed the appointment of Dr Lynne Lane as the new chair of the Mental Health Commission.

Dr Lane has been appointed for three years from 1 January 2011 and replaces Dr Peter McGeorge who resigned earlier this year.

''Lynne brings strong management expertise and significant health sector experience to the role,'' Dr Coleman says.

''She is a public health physician with over 15 years of health services experience in strategic planning, funding and service management. Lynne has also previously held a range of senior positions in the health sector including National Director of Public Health for the Ministry of Health.''

Until April 2010 Dr Lane was the chief executive of Affordable Healthcare New Zealand. She also consulted for various Government funded organisations, the World Health Organisation and non-government organisations.

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.