Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Waikato research institute wins top award

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

Te Kotahi Research Institute (TKRI) has taken out the New Zealand Research in Education’s (NZARE) Group Award for a second time after receiving the award previously in 2015. Te Kotahi was nominated for its significant contribution to Māori research, in particular, Kaupapa Māori research that includes a strong focus on education in its widest sense.

Three senior Māori academics, Professor Linda Smith and Associate Professors Leonie Pihama and Jenny Lee-Morgan, supported by their highly skilled team of Herearoha Skipper, Papahuia Dickson, Tammy Tauroa, and Te Uranga Paki, collectively form the core TKRI group.

This team of Māori women enact the vision and mission of TKRI; to be a world recognised Kaupapa Māori Institute that contributes to Māori and Indigenous aspirations through transformative research excellence -- Koi te mata punenga, maiangi te mata pūihoiho, and this award solidifies their already outstanding success in the NZARE awards, with Associate Professors Pihama and Jenny Lee- Morgan having also won individual awards from the organisation on separate occasions.

Professor Pihama said it was just as good to receive the group award for a second time. "Recognised across and within communities locally, nationally and internationally, Te Kotahi as a research and professional development initiative has made a major impact on Māori engagement and achievement, so we are thrilled to be acknowledged for our mahi by NZARE."

The award was presented to TKRI at the NZARE annual conference held at the University of Waikato yesterday.

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.