Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Finalists announced for the 2018 Maioha Award

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

Some of New Zealand’s best songwriters have been shortlisted for the prestigious APRA Maioha Award, to be presented at the 2018 APRA Silver Scroll Awards.

The APRA Maioha Award recognises the art of contemporary Māori songwriting and honours composers who are telling their stories in the language of Te Ao Māori.

Ngaru Hōu by Seth Haapu

Te Ahi Kai Pō by Ria Hall, Tiki Taane, and Te Ori Paki

Uia by Rob Ruha

Ngaru Hōu by first time finalist Seth Haapu is a te reo version of his song New Wave (translated by Mataia Keepa), which was also in the Silver Scroll Award top 20 shortlist. A romantic ballad about revealing and challenging power of love, it resembles a karakia, and is Seth’s expression of thanks for all that he’s been given, and all that is to come, good and bad.

Powerful, vibrant, electronic roots artist Ria Hall is also a first time finalist for Te Ahi Kai Pō, alongside co-writers Tiki Taane (who was previously a Maioha Award finalist in 2011) and Te Ori Paki. The song is from her recent album Rules of Engagement, which draws on themes of love and war, revolution and change, and is a lament and tribute to those who have been lost along the way but continue to provide inspiration.

Conversely Rob Ruha is no stranger to the Maioha Award - he won in 2014 and 2016, and this year is a finalist for his gentle yet stirring song about mana written for King TÅ«heitia, Uia. A different song also written by Rob titled Kalega, was included in the Silver Scroll Award top 20 shortlist.

The finalists for the SOUNZ Contemporary Award and APRA Screen Awards were announced last week, and the finalists for the APRA Silver Scroll Award will be announced very shortly on Thursday August 30th.

All awards will be presented during a ceremony at Spark Arena in Auckland on Thursday October 4th. As a part of the celebrations, APRA will also be inducting a songwriter/s into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame.

Radio New Zealand will broadcast and live video stream the APRA Silver Scroll Awards ceremony on RNZ National, and online at

The awards are proudly supported by Hallertau Brewery, and Soho Wines.

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.