Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Judges announced for 2019 Parkin Drawing Award

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

The judging panel consisting of recognised art practitioners, collectors, and academics have been selected for 2019 Parkin Drawing Prize national competition.

The prestigious award attracting a major prize of $20,000 was launched seven years ago by Chris Parkin, arts patron, philanthropist and former owner of Museum Art Hotel in Wellington.

Entries are now open to anyone living permanently in New Zealand. 10 highly commended prizes each worth $500.00 will also be offered, providing an added incentive for artists.

An advisory panel, consisting of artist, writer, curator and Professor Robert Jahnke, highly regarded New Zealand artist Darren George, and Charlotte Davy, Head of Art at Te Papa Tongarewa, will select the finalists for the exhibition at the New Zealand Academy of Fine Arts (6 August - 8 September 2019).

The winning submission will be selected and announced by renowned art dealer John Gow from Gow Langsford Gallery at the opening of the Parkin Drawing Prize exhibition on 5 August 2019.

Founder Chris Parkin says the selection of judges continues a track record of high-calibre judges for the competition since its inception in 2012.

"I think it is important in evaluating artistic endeavour to acknowledge the entire field of interest from the largely academic, through the practitioner to the necessary commercial. I’m delighted with this years line-up of judges, particularly because they all bring to the table a wealth of ideas, experience and alternative conservations from different facets of the art world," said Parkin.

The competition, in association with the New Zealand Academy of Fine Arts, promotes excellence and innovation in drawing in all its forms (processes, materials and ideas) and aims to play an important role in fostering New Zealand drawing practice.

Previous recipients of the award include Monique Jansen (2013) with AO Folded Moire Drawing ; Douglas Stichbury (2014) with Observer , Gabrielle Amodeo (2015) with The Floor We Walk On , Hannah Beehre (2016) with Catastrophe, Kirsty Lillico’s carpet installation State Block (2017) and Jacqui Colley for Long Echo last year.

Entries close at 4pm on 5 June, 2019 and the winner will be announced on 5 August 2019 to coincide with a public exhibition showcasing all finalists’ works to be held at the New Zealand Academy of Fine Arts in Wellington.

Forms and full details are available at

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.