Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Nayland College announced as finalist in 2019 PM's Education Excellence Awards

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

Nayland College in Nelson was selected as a finalist in this year’s Prime Minister’s Education Excellence Awards.

The college is one of four finalists chosen for the Excellence in Leading category.

Ministry of Education Deputy Secretary for Early Learning and Student Achievement Ellen MacGregor-Reid says the Judging Panel has chosen a total of 20 finalists across all categories and they all demonstrated outstanding teaching practices that made a big difference not just to learners, but to their whānau and the wider community.

"They are a great example of the amazing work that is happening in early learning services, kura and schools across the country. We look forward to hearing their stories at the awards ceremony and sharing them with the rest of New Zealand," she says.

Nayland College

The college has been on a transformational pathway for the past five years. They reflected on leadership, attitude, values and entrenched systems and initiated a values-based approach to teaching and learning. They localised the curriculum and made a research-grounded shift in their teaching practices which have transformed learning across the school.

The implementation of cultural responsiveness and relational strategies have ensured the college is a safe, supportive and respectful environment for all learners. Learning is now a true partnership between home and the College.

The result has been an increase in the school roll and retention of students in the senior years. Achievement levels have significantly increased, particularly for Māori students.

Awards Information

The Awards celebrate groups of teachers and educators working together, and with students, whānau and communities to deliver excellent outcomes for children and young people. This year saw a total of 20 finalists across all categories.

Members of the independent Judging Panel of education experts are visiting the finalists between June and August to see their work and speak with all those involved. Winners from each category will receive $20,000 and a professional development opportunity.

The Prime Minister’s Supreme Award is selected from the four category winners. It is presented to the early learning service, school or kura that has had the greatest influence on education outcomes.

The Supreme Award winner will receive an additional $30,000 and an opportunity to represent New Zealand in an international education conference.

The Awards ceremony will be held in Wellington in September.

For more information on the Prime Minister’s Education Excellence Awards, please visit their website:

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.