Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Auckland kura a finalist at 2019 PM's Education Excellence Awards

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Hoani Waititi in West Auckland is announced as a finalist in this year’s Prime Minister’s Education Excellence Awards.

They were selected for the 2019 Education Focus Prize - Excellence in Māori-medium Education.

Ministry of Education Deputy Secretary for Early Learning and Student Achievement Ellen MacGregor-Reid says the finalists demonstrate outstanding teaching practices that made a big difference not just to children and young people, but to their whānau and hapū.

"They are a great example of the amazing work that is happening in kōhanga reo, kura and wharekura across the country to support Māori learners to achieve as Māori. We look forward to hearing their stories at the awards ceremony and sharing them with the rest of New Zealand," she says.

Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Hoani Waititi

The kura implemented a programme, Te Kete Uru Ao, to ensure that every learner is equipped with the tools to be successful in their chosen pathways.

Te Kete Uru Ao offers the students practical skills and qualifications to prepare them for adult life and work. This involved a kaupapa Māori learning environment, culturally empowering teaching practice and relevant learning programmes. It also involves strong connections with whānau, tertiary providers, industry and employers.

The result has seen students leaving the kura with positive attitudes to life-long learning, work skills, resilience and a willingness to learn.

Awards Information

The Awards celebrate groups of teachers and educators working together, and with students, whānau and communities to deliver excellent outcomes for children and young people. This year saw a total of 20 finalists across all categories.

Members of the independent Judging Panel of education experts are visiting the finalists between June and August to see their work and speak with all those involved. Winners from each category will receive $20,000 and a professional development opportunity.

The Prime Minister’s Supreme Award is selected from the category winners. It is presented to the early learning service, school or kura that has had the greatest influence on education outcomes.

The Supreme Award winner will receive an additional $30,000 and an opportunity to represent New Zealand in an international education conference.

The Awards ceremony will be held in Wellington in September.

For more information on the Prime Minister’s Education Excellence Awards, please visit their website:

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.