Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Stratford district voters encouraged to have their say early

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

With voting papers being delivered from today, Stratford District Council Chief Executive Sven Hanne is urging Stratford district voters to have their say and vote before 12 October 2019.

"We encourage people to vote as soon as possible after receiving voting papers in the post. Often people put them aside to do at a later date but forget and miss out on the chance to have a say. Don’t make that mistake, sit down and fill them in as soon as you can, then post them back," said Mr Hanne.

Stratford district voters will start to receive their 2019 local government voting papers from tomorrow, with all papers expected to be delivered by the end of next week.

People who have not received their papers by then should contact Dale Ofsoske Electoral Officer on 0800 922 822 or

Voting papers must be posted or hand delivered in time to reach Stratford District Council’s electoral officer by 12 noon on 12 October 2019.

The voting papers for Stratford District Council will use the First Past the Post (FPP) voting systems. For the FPP system voters are required to put a tick alongside the candidate(s) they wish to vote for.

In your voting pack, you will also receive your Taranaki District Health Board papers which will use the STV voting system to elect its members. Voting papers will contain clear instructions on how to vote.

Electoral Officer, Dale Ofsoske says, "People should read their papers carefully before casting their vote to ensure they are using the right voting method."

Mr Hanne says, "In 2016 Stratford district recorded a 45.58% turnout of voters. I really want to see this increase for 2019."

"It is your democratic right to take part in electing members who best reflect the values and local priorities of the community you live in, so have your say and make it count with a vote," said Mr Hanne.

For further information on the voting process please contact: Dale Ofsoske Electoral Officer on 0800 922 822 or

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.