Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Preliminary results of local body elections for Southland District Council

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

Southland District Council Mayor-elect Gary Tong’s majority has increased to over 3000 in the local body election preliminary results released today. The difference yesterday between Mr Tong and nearest polling candidate Don Byars was 2629 votes and it is now 3079.

At this stage, because two potential community board members - Rob Scott in the Northern board and Bruce Ford in the Stewart Island/Rakiura board - have also been elected as probable councillors, the next highest polling candidate will join the community boards. At this stage, Peter Bruce joins the Northern board and in a close finish which could still change, Rakiura Herzhoff is on the Stewart Island/Rakiura board. There are two votes between Mr Herzhoff and the next candidate, Dale Chittenden in these preliminary results.

These results do not include some special votes and show that overall 47.03% of the population voted, which is an increase on the past three elections. The final results will be announced at the end of this week.

The preliminary results are as follows:

Southland District Council Mayor (1 vacancy)

TONG, Gary Ian 5313 1

BYARS, Don 2234

HANNA, Tim 1550

Informal 14

Blank 261

Councillor - Mararoa Waimea ward (three vacancies)

KREMER, Ebel 1840 1

DOUGLAS, John 1481 2

SCOTT, Rob 1345 3

DILLON, Brian 1210

Informal 1

Blank 35

Councillor - Oreti ward (three vacancies)

MENZIES, Christine 1315 1

RUDDENKLAU, Margie 1310 2

FRAZER, Darren 1309 3

MANGELS, Natasha 1247

PATERSON, Neil 1027

HISHON, Margot 791

Informal 8

Blank 41

Councillor - Stewart Island/Rakiura ward (one vacancy)

FORD, Bruce 112 1

SPRAGGON, Jon Ross 101

HERZHOFF, Rakiura 41

Informal 0


2 Councillor - Waiau Aparima ward (three vacancies)

HARPUR, George 1075 1

OWEN, Karyn 1007 2

BYARS, Don 959 3

MARRON, Michael 854

PERHAM, Nick 790

HIBBS, Ron 522

Informal 1

Blank 62

Councillor - Waihopai Toetoe ward (two vacancies)

DUFFY, Paul 1297 1

KEAST, Julie 1113 2

NALLY, Amanda 357

Informal 1

Blank 31

Fiordland Community Board (six vacancies)

GREANEY, Sarah 1099 1

KILLEEN, Ben 1085 2

MURRAY, Ryan 954 3

SLEE, Max 867 4

CHARTRES, Mary 763 5

HOLMES, Diane 762 6

HUMPHRIES, Nigel 610

LAUGHTON, George Lester 539

CANTWELL, Shaun 527

NEEDS, Laura 372

Informal 5

Blank 8

Northern Community Board - Mid Dome Subdivision (three vacancies)

TITHER, Greg 203 1

-SCOTT, Rob 179

SMITH, Carolyn 178 2

BRUCE, Peter 76 3

Informal 0

Blank 9

Oreti Community Board - Hokonui Subdivision (one vacancy)

SMITH, Colin 200 1


Informal 0 

Blank 20

Oreti Community Board - Midlands Subdivision (four vacancies)

SOMERVILLE, Brian 1282 1

MANGELS, Natasha 1240 2

JUKES, Geoff 1078 3

SCHMIDT, Pete 938 4

SPENCER, Raewyn 522

Informal 0

Blank 68

Stewart Island/Rakiura Community Board (six vacancies)

LAWRENCE, Steve 203 1

SPRAGGON, Jon Ross 160 2

CONNER, Aaron Squirt 140 3

GEESON, Anita 117 4

-FORD, Bruce 110

LEASK, Gordon 107 5

HERZHOFF, Rakiura 105 6



SMALL, Edward 97

MCRITCHIE, Letitia 93

JOY, Aaron 72

Informal 0

Blank 0

Elections were not held in the community boards of Ardlussa, Oraka Aparima, Waihopai Toetoe, Tuatapere Te Waewae and Wallace Takitimu as there were either enough candidates for the vacancies or too few candidates. In the boards with too few candidates, by-elections will be held later this year.

In the Northern Community Board, two of its three subdivisions had enough nominations for the vacancies, so Pam Naylor represents the Parawa-Fairlight subdivision, and Lance Hellewell and Sonya Taylor represent the West Dome subdivision. See above for the results of the Mid Dome subdivision election.

The Oreti board’s Makarewa subdivision has two vacancies. See above for the results of the elections for the other Oreti subdivisions.

The Ardlussa Community Board members are Ray Dickson, Chris Dillon, Richard Clarkson, Clarke Horrell and Hilary Kelso.

The Oraka Aparima board members are Sharon Ayto, Neil Linscott and Graeme Stuart.

The Waihopai Toe Toe board members are Denise Mary Fodie, Pani Grey-Thomas, Gay Munro, Melanie Shepherd and Pam Yorke.

The Tuatapere Te Waewae board is Blayne De Vries, Maurice Green, Ann Cherrie Horrell, Alistair McCracken, Keri Potter and Margaret Thomas.

The Wallace Takitimu board is made up of Andre John Henry Bekhuis, David Cowie, Kelly Day, Bev Evans, Peter Gutsell and Maureen Johnston.

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.