Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Changes For Next Council Election

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

Ratepayers will elect district councillors in four separate wards, rather than three, for the 2010 and 2013 local body elections.

The new structure was confirmed at yesterday's Council meeting following a public consultation process.

The change sees the current Mercury Bay ward split into two, creating four wards instead of the existing three. The four wards will be Thames, Coromandel-Colville, Mercury Bay and Tairua-Paunui-Whangamata.

Following submissions, the Tairua-Pauanui-Whangamata ward will be called the South Eastern ward.

There will be no change to the overall number of councillors (currently eight and a District Mayor).

The number of councillors appointed to the five existing four-member community boards has also been changed. Three councillors will be appointed to Thames community board and one to the Coromandel-Colville community board.

The Mercury Bay, Tairua-Pauanui and Whangamata community boards will each have two councillors appointed.

Council received 12 submissions on the issue.

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.