Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Rick Cooper Has Been Returned For A Second Term As Taupo Mayor In A New Look Council

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media
Rick Cooper
Rick Cooper

Rick Cooper has retained his lead by 134 votes ahead of Mark Burton, but the public have voted for change with currently only three of the former councillors in the new line up and Maggie Stewart the only Turangi-Tongariro Community Board member returning

The 2010 Local Body election preliminary results have seen Rick Cooper, Mich'eal Downard, Barry Hickling and Gary Keepa retain their places but a raft of first time Councillors will join them to make up a new look Council.

New Councillors are Rex Mincher, Anna Kirk, Keith Crate, Chris Johnston and Nicola Williams from Taupo-Kaingaroa and Kirsty Trueman from Mangakino-Pouakani.

The last place on Council will be hotly contested with 115 special votes still to process.

Rob Henderson currently leads Don Ormsby by two votes in the Turangi-Tongariro ward so its too close to call that result just at present.

The Turangi-Tongariro Community Board has also undergone a changing of the guard and currently has only one previous member elected. Maggie Stewart will be joined by new board members Duncan McKenzie, Chris Te Whare, Wally Van der AA and Neal Saunders.

If Rob Henderson retains his position on Council then Mary Smallman will be returned to the Community Board, otherwise Rob will take on Mary Smallman for the final position on the Board. With five votes currently in Mr Henderson's favour this is another close call.

Final results are expected to be available by the end of the week once the special votes are counted.

The voter return was 54.21%, (12,629 voting papers) excluding special votes. This is an increase from 50.27% in 2007.

The full preliminary results are attached.

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.