Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Commerce Commission Chair Reappointed

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

Dr Mark Berry has been reappointed as chair of the Commerce Commission, Commerce Minister Simon Power announced today.

"I'm pleased that Dr Berry will continue to serve as chair of the Commerce Commission to complete a full five year term until 31 March 2014," Mr Power said.

"I have full confidence in his leadership and recognise the outstanding job that he has done at the commission.

"In Dr Berry's time in office, the commission has undergone considerable change. Amongst other things, Dr Berry has successfully managed an organisational restructuring of the commission and the ongoing delivery of an extensive work programme to implement the new requirements for electricity, gas, and major airport businesses under Part 4 of the Commerce Act.

"The Government is committed to ensuring the commission remains a strong and effective regulatory body, and Dr Berry's reappointment is a key part of this objective," Mr Power said.


Dr Mark Berry was appointed chair of the Commerce Commission in April 2009. He served as the commission's deputy chair from 1999 until 2001. He is a former partner of Bell Gully, and a former consultant for Chapman Tripp. From 2002 until his appointment as chair of the commission, Dr Berry was practising as a commercial barrister. Dr Berry holds a doctorate from Columbia University and has published widely in the field of competition law.

The Commerce Commission enforces legislation that promotes competition in New Zealand markets, regulates electricity lines, gas pipelines and specified airports, and prohibits misleading and deceptive conduct by traders. It is also responsible for legislation specific to the telecommunications and dairy industries.

The Commission has between four and six members who are appointed by the Governor-General and a number of associate members appointed by the Minister of Commerce. The Commission is currently composed of Dr Mark Berry (chair), members Sue Begg, Donal Curtin, Anita Mazzoleni, Ross Patterson (also Telecommunications Commissioner), Peter Taylor; and associate members David Caygill, Pat Duignan and Gowan Pickering.

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.