Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Minister Announces New Northland Lottery Appointments

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

Minister of Internal Affairs Nathan Guy has announced the appointment of Murray Broadbelt, Neil Clements, and the reappointment of Heather Ayrton to the Lottery Northland Community Distribution Committee.

"These appointees have a wide range of community and business experience that will be a real asset to the work of the Committee," says Mr Guy

Murray Broadbelt of Whangarei is the Managing Director of Employer Services Ltd. Mr Broadbelt is a current member and former Vice President of the Whangarei Chamber of Commerce, and the founder of the Whangarei Prince of Wales Trust which provides funding for youth training and development. Mr Broadbelt also has a long involvement with the Scouts, including senior leadership roles.

Neil Clements of Dargaville is a property investor and owner and manager of a beef fattening property. He has formerly served on the ASB Community Trust and Northland Community Foundation. Mr Clements has lived all his life in the district and been involved in various farming, education, health, and sport committees.

Heather Ayrton of Kaikohe was formerly Her Majesty's Coroner for New Zealand from 1981 to 2007. She was the foundation Chair of the Northland Conservation Board and the past Chair of the Northland Regional Committee for the New Zealand Historic Places Trust. Ms Ayrton was awarded a Queens Service Medal for public services in 1998 and has served one term on the Lottery Northland Community Distribution Committee.

The Lottery Grants Board allocates the profits of lotteries such as Lotto, Lotto Strike, Instant Kiwi and Keno to eleven regional and nine national committees. The Northland Committee has five members in total and last year gave $1.4 million to local projects.

"The government's aim is to maximise the return to the community from the proceeds of gambling while minimising any associated harm. The Northland Committee helps fund valuable projects that make a real difference in the local community," said Mr Guy.

Both appointments are for a term of three years, commencing on 1 February 2010 and expiring on 31 January 2013.

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.