Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Power: Soe Board Appointments Announced

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

7 April 2009 - Appointments to the boards of State Owned Enterprises were announced by State Owned Enterprises Minister Simon Power today.

"I intend to offer 22 new appointments, one elevation of a deputy chair to chair, three elevations of a director to deputy chair, and 20 reappointments," Mr Power said.

"Shareholding ministers have previously stated that we are looking for more commercially-focused boards, and a change in the governance of the SOE portfolio will help achieve that. This range of strong directors will help promote the National Government's focus on SOE performance.

"I'm particularly pleased to announce three new chairs to SOE boards: David Clarke (Kordia), Phil Lough (Quotable Value), and Sarah Astor (MetService - promoted from deputy chair). I'm confident they will continue to develop these companies.

"I'd also like to thank the outgoing chairs: Wayne Brown (Kordia), Kay McKelvie (Quotable Value), and Dr Francis Small (MetService) - for their service and leadership.

"Joanna Perry (Genesis), Polly Schaverien (MetService) and Ian Donald (Transpower) have been elevated to deputy chair, and Paula Rebstock is now deputy chair of New Zealand Railways Corporation. I congratulate them on their appointments.

"Hon Dr Michael Cullen has been appointed to the board of New Zealand Post, and is expected to become deputy chair in the medium term.

"I'd like to thank all retiring directors for their service and commitment to the boards they have served on, and wish them well in their future endeavours.

"I welcome all new appointees. I look forward to working with all the SOE boards."

A complete list of appointments and reappointments is attached.

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.