Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

2010 Rebel Sport Super 14 Squads Named

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

The five New Zealand squads in the 2010 Rebel Sport Super 14 were announced at a special event in Auckland today.

Coaching teams for the Blues, Chiefs, Hurricanes, Crusaders and Highlanders and New Zealand Rugby Union (NZRU) officials spent the last two days finalising their squads for the new season.

NZRU General Manager Professional Rugby Neil Sorensen said there was great strength across all five squads with an injection of new blood, and the retention of experienced players.

"The abundance of quality talent has made this a very challenging process. However, it is great that the franchises have worked solidly through this process in a deliberate and professional manner," Mr Sorensen said.

"It is always tough to leave out quality players - but the reality is there are just so many good players out there. We are delighted with the even spread of this talent across the regions and anticipate strong performances in 2010 for all five squads."

All five coaches fronted together to announce the squads at a special event in Auckland this morning.

The 2009 Rebel Sport Super 14 squads are as follows:

BLUES: Tony Woodcock, John Afoa, Charlie Faumuina, Tevita Mailau, , Keven Mealamu, Tom McCartney, Anthony Boric, Ali Williams, Kurtis Haiu, Jerome Kaino, Peter Saili**, Serge Lilo (D)*, Tom Chamberlain**, Chris Lowrey, Viliame Maafu** +, Alby Mathewson*, Chris Smylie, Stephen Brett (D)*, Daniel Kirkpatrick (D)*, Luke McAlister***, Benson Stanley, Isaia Toeava, George Pisi***, Rudi Wulf, Anthony Tuitavake, Joe Rokocoko, Rene Ranger, Paul Williams.


Nathan White***, Ben Afeaki**, James McGougan, Sona Taumalolo, Aled de Malmanche, Hika Elliot, Kevin O'Neill, Craig Clarke, Callum Retallick**, Romana Graham**, Jarrad Hoeata (D)**, Liam Messam, Tanerau Latimer, Luke Braid**, Sione Lauaki, Colin Bourke, Brendon Leonard, Junior Poluleuligaga** +, Stephen Donald, Mike Delany, Callum Bruce, Jackson Willison, Richard Kahui, Lelia Masaga, Sitiveni Sivivatu, Dwayne Sweeney, Tim Nanai-Williams**, Mils Muliaina.


John Schwalger, Jacob Ellison, Neemia Tialata, Anthony Perenise*, Andrew Hore, Dane Coles, Jeremy Thrush, Bryn Evans, James Broadhurst (D)**, Jason Eaton, Michael Paterson*, Victor Vito, Karl Lowe, Scott Waldrom, Rodney So'oialo, Nick Crosswell**, Piri Weepu, Tyson Keats (D)**, Aaron Cruden**, Willie Ripia, Ma'a Nonu, Conrad Smith, Jason Kawau (D), Tamati Ellison, David Smith, Hosea Gear, Andre Taylor**, Cory Jane.


Wyatt Crockett, Owen Franks, Ben Franks, Peter Borlase**, Corey Flynn, Ti'i Paulo***, Brad Thorn, Isaac Ross, Chris Jack***, Sam Whitelock**, Kieran Read, Richie McCaw, George Whitelock, Jonathan Poff, Thomas Waldrom, Andy Ellis, Kahn Fotuali'i, Daniel Carter***, Daniel Bowden (D)*, Ryan Crotty, Tim Bateman, Robert Fruean**, Adam Whitelock, Sean Maitland, Kade Poki, Zac Guildford*, Colin Slade, Jared Payne.


Jamie Mackintosh, Clint Newland, Chris King, Bronson Murray (D)*, Jason Macdonald, Jason Rutledge, Josh Bekhuis, Tom Donnelly, Hayden Triggs, Joe Tuineau**, Adam Thomson, Alando Soakai, John Hardie**, Tim Boys, Nasi Manu*, Stephen Setephano, Jimmy Cowan, Sean Romans, Matt Berquist (D), Michael Hobbs*, Jayden Hayward, Jason Shoemark (D), Kendrick Lynn, James Paterson**, Fetu'u Vainikolo, Ben Smith, Robbie Robinson**, Israel Dagg.

Key code

- * New player to a Franchise

- ** New player to a Super Rugby squad (i.e. has not been selected in an initial Super Rugby squad before)

- *** Returning player

- + Pacific Island Player

- D Draft

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.