Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Men's High Performance Surf Boat teams announced

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

Surf Life Saving New Zealand is pleased to announce two surf boat crews that have been selected to represent New Zealand at the 2018 Trans-Tasman Surf Boat Challenge.

Open Men- Red Beach

1. Jed Wright

2. Chris Carew

3. Hayden Smith

4. Shamus O’Halloran

5. Shane O’Halloran (Sweep)

Under 23 Men- Whangamata

1. Brandon Dromgool

2. Josh Kerridge

3. Lyndon Vickers

4. Sam Stockley

5. Andrew Jujnovich (Sweep)

They were selected yesterday following the second round of the New Zealand Surf Boat Series, the Whangamata Surf Boat Spectacular.

These crews join the Muriwai Meerkats (Open Women) and Orewa Aces (Under 23 Women) that were selected following the New Zealand Surf Boat Trials held at Mt Maunganui on Saturday November 11.

Together, the four crews will represent New Zealand at the 2018 Trans-Tasman Surf Boat Challenge which will take place on February 17 at Elouera Beach in New South Wales and will be incorporated into a full weekend of Surf Boat action as part of the ASRL Open event.

The Trans-Tasman Surf Boat Challenge consists of a three race series for the men's crews and same for the women's with combined points accumulating to a champion nation that will be presented with the Trans-Tasman Surf Boat Challenge trophy.

The three races will be made up of two long course events and one short course event. The Open crews will also be accompanied by two New Zealand Under 23 crews who will race against the Open crews in the three race series, and whose results count towards an overall Under 23 points table.

Surf Life Saving New Zealand thanks selectors Neil Watts, Brett Hamer, Bruce Matheson and also the volunteer officials that assisted in running the Whangamata Surf Boat Spectacular.

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us through our contact form if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.