Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

NZC umpires rewarded for consistent all-round performance

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

Consistency and development are the two key features of the NZC umpire and match referee appointments for the 2018-2019 season.

The umpiring group is comprised of three panels - a three member International Umpire Panel (IUP), a nine member National Umpire Panel (NUP) and a 14 member Reserve Umpire Panel (RUP).

"Both our International and National Umpire Panels had very strong seasons both on and off the field last season, hence we have named unchanged panels," said Match Officials Manager Sheldon Eden-Whaitiri.

"Internationally Wayne, Chris and Shaun continue to impress and ultimately they and NZC would love for them to join Chris Gaffaney on the ICC Elite Panel."

Developing a large, talented stable of umpires is a key objective for Eden-Whaitiri and this season the RUP sees three new additions - Llewellyn Els, Tyron Davies and Tim Shirriffs.

"I would like to congratulate Lui, Tim and Tyron on their promotions to the Reserve Umpire Panel and reiterate NZC’s commitment to having New Zealanders represented among the best umpires in the world," said Eden-Whaitiri.

"The panels work extremely hard on their on-field decision making and general match management as well as our team culture off the field."

2018-2019 International Umpire Panel:

Chris Brown

Shaun Haig

Wayne Knights

2018-2019 National Umpire Panel:

Billy Bowden (Auckland)

John Bromley (Canterbury)

Chris Brown (Auckland)

Tony Gillies (Auckland)

Shaun Haig (Otago)

Wayne Knights (Auckland)

Ash Mehrotra (Northern Districts)

Tim Parlane (Canterbury)

Derek Walker (Otago)

2018-2019 Reserve Umpire Panel:

Cory Black (Wellington)

Kim Cotton (Canterbury)

Tyron Davies (Wellington)-

John Dempsey (Northern Districts)

Llewellyn Els (Northern Districts)-

Richard Hooper (Central Districts)

Kannan Jagannathan (Otago)

Damian Morrow (Northern Districts)

Pete Pasco (Otago)

Eugene Sanders (Canterbury)

Tim Shirriffs (Central Districts)-

Garth Stirrat (Wellington)

Glen Walklin (Central Districts)

Diana Venter (Auckland)

-new appointment

ICC Elite Panel:

Chris Gaffaney

2018-2019 NZC Match Referee Panel:

Gary Baxter

Ross Dykes

Kevin Earl

Richard Hayward

Kevin Pulley

James Bennett

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us through our contact form if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.