Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Auckland Aces won't change winning formula for Elimination Final

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

The Auckland Aces are looking for a repeat performance of last Saturday’s victory when they take on the Central Stags in the Burger King Super Smash Elimination Final tomorrow.

The Aces won that match by eight wickets to secure hosting rights for the game at Eden Park Outer Oval. A win tomorrow will see the Aces take on the Knights in Sunday’s Grand Final.

Aces head coach Mark O’Donnell says the side is peaking at the right time.

"Going into the playoffs on the back of five wins puts us in a good frame of mind. Particularly playing at home where we have had very good results recently."

Both other finals contenders have lost their last two matches leading up to the knockout games.

BLACKCAPS batsman Colin Munro returns to add further firepower at the top of the Aces batting order.

"It’s always good to have Colin playing with us," says O’Donnell, "And he enjoys his cricket at the Outer Oval, as we saw a couple of weeks ago."

The fact that the match has more riding on it than the round-robins hasn’t entered into O’Donnell’s preparations.

"We’re not treating this match any differently because it’s a playoff.

"It’s been extremely satisfying to play smart cricket and to get wins from that, so we don’t plan on losing our heads just because the game has the word ‘final’ stuck onto it."

The Auckland Aces play the Central Stags in the Burger King Super Smash Elimination Final on Friday 15 February from 4:10pm.

The match will be broadcast live on Sky Sport. Glenn Phillips will be wearing the field mic for the Auckland Aces.

Tickets are available from Ticketek or Gate J at Eden Park. Adults $15, Children $5, Family Passes $30 (two adults and three children).

Auckland Aces squad to play the Central Stags:

Craig Cachopa (C)

Graeme Beghin

Daniel Bell-Drummond

Mark Chapman

Donovan Grobbelaar

Roneel Hira

Ben Lister

Mitchell McClenaghan

Colin Munro

Robert O’Donnell

Glenn Phillips (WK)

Matthew Quinn

Will Somerville

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.