Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Bay of Plenty Steamers to challenge Waikato in first Chiefs Cup match

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

This week’s Mitre 10 Cup round will see the continuation of provincial rivalry within the Chiefs region when the Bay of Plenty Steamers take on current holders Waikato to attempt to reclaim the Chiefs Country Cup.

Waikato successfully claimed the Chiefs Country Cup in September last year after beating the trophy’s inaugural holders, the Bay of Plenty Steamers 54-21.

The four Chiefs Rugby Club provincial unions (Bay of Plenty, Counties Manukau, Taranaki and Waikato) will not only be playing for competition points when they face each other in the Mitre 10 and Farah Palmer Cups but will also seek to claim the Chiefs Country Cup.

The Farah Palmer Cup fixture between Waikato and Bay of Plenty Volcanix on September 21 will be the first challenge for the 2019 provincial season. Holders Waikato are the only side to have held the cup following wins over Counties Manukau and Bay of Plenty in the 2018 Farah Palmer Cup season.

Chiefs Rugby Club CEO Michael Collins is excited to see the rivalry between the provincial unions within the Chiefs region.

"As we saw last year the Cup ensured that the rivalries between our four provincial unions was fierce across both the Mitre 10 Cup and Farah Palmer Cup competitions. Even after just one round of the 2019 Mitre 10 Cup fans witnessed a great battle between the Taranaki Bulls and Counties Manukau Steelers which featured several Gallagher Chiefs players along with an array of new talent vying for their spot in the 2020 Gallagher Chiefs squad."

"We expect that on Sunday afternoon the Bay of Plenty Steamers will deliver a strong challenge for the Chiefs Country Cup when they host current holders Waikato at Rotorua International Stadium," said Collins.

Collins finished urging fans to show their support for their provincial sides.

"We trust fans will continue to enjoy the rivalries our provincial unions share and support them in their defence or challenge for the Chiefs Country Cup this Mitre 10 Cup and Farah Palmer Cup season."

Mitre 10 Cup - Chiefs Country Cup Challenge: Sunday 18 August Bay of Plenty Steamers vs. Waikato at Rotorua International Stadium Kick-off: 4.30pm

Farah Palmer Cup - Chiefs Country Cup Challenge: Saturday 21 September Bay of Plenty Volcanix vs. Waikato at FMG Stadium Waikato Kick-off: 12.30pm

Chiefs Country Cup Statistics: Chiefs Country Cup holders for both Mitre 10 Cup and Farah Palmer Cup defend the cup in both home and away fixtures.

Mitre 10 Cup Bay of Plenty were the first holders in August 2019

18th August - Bay of Plenty vs Taranaki 30-10 Winners/Holders: Bay of Plenty

23rd August - Counties Manukau vs Bay of Plenty 17-22 Winners/Holders: Bay of Plenty

21st September - Bay of Plenty vs Waikato 21-54 Winners/Current Holders: Waikato

Current Holders: Waikato

Farah Palmer Cup Waikato were the first holders in September 2019

1st September - Waikato vs Counties Manukau 33-27 Winners/Holders: Waikato

8th September - Bay of Plenty vs Waikato 7-44 Winners/Holders: Waikato

Current Holders: Waikato

Detail on the Chiefs Country Cups: The cups were designed by Dave Burke to represent the Chiefs Rugby Club provincial unions playing in the Mitre 10 Cup through the four respective Kaitaiki’s on the design. The design is symbolic of the shape of a heart, representing that the unions are the heartbeat of the Investec Super Rugby team.

The cup’s design also features a maunga which symbolises all the mountains in the Chiefs region, as well as the waterway and sacred waters that connect the four regions.

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.