Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Canterbury win second Graham Mourie Cup title

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

Canterbury have claimed the Graham Mourie Cup at the Jock Hobbs Memorial National Under 19 Tournament with a 26-17 victory over Auckland in Taupō today.

The victory was built on a solid forwards performance, with Canterbury prop Fletcher Newell rewarded as Player of the Tournament.

An exciting final day of play saw Taranaki claim the Sir Michael Jones Trophy while Wellington finished in third place.

In the Graham Mourie Cup Final, Canterbury took an early lead that they never relinquished. Up 14-0 at the break, Auckland did launch a comeback with first five-eighth Zarn Sullivan scoring all 17 of his teams points.

But it was the case of too little too late as Canterbury held on for the 26-17 win, their second Graham Mourie Cup victory having previously won in 2015.

Taranaki were dominant in the Sir Michael Jones Trophy Final, Ricco Falaniko scored two tries, while Josh Jacomb kicked 12 points, he finished as the tournament’s top points scorer on 52 from across the three match days.

Newell was a popular choice to win the DJ Graham Player of the Tournament, he was the cornerstone of a dominant Canterbury pack that led their side to three wins across the week.

Today’s action brought the curtain down on three days of play at Owen Delany Park which saw almost 400 of New Zealand’s most promising rugby players come together to compete in the annual Jock Hobbs Memorial National Under 19 Tournament.



Northland 45 - Southland 18

North Harbour 29 - Tasman 17

Counties Manukau 52 - Heartland 20

Taranaki 52 - Hawke’s Bay 25


Waikato 36 - Auckland Development 19

Otago 17 - Manawatu 3

Wellington 34 - Bay of Plenty 7

Canterbury 26 - Auckland 17


1st Canterbury

2nd Auckland

3rd Wellington

4th Bay of Plenty

5th Otago

6th Manawatu

7th Waikato

8th Auckland Development

9th Taranaki

10th Hawke’s Bay

11th North Harbour

12th Tasman

13th Counties Manukau

14th Heartland

15th Northland

16th Southland

Top Try Scorers for the Tournament

4 tries - Jamahl Hapi, Josh Jacomb, Milliennium Sanerivi (Taranaki), Saul Lewis, Bailey Tautau (Tasman), Ioane Moananu, Larenz Tupaea-Thomsen (Counties Manukau)

Top Point Scorers for the Tournament

52 - Josh Jacomb (Taranaki)

38 - Zarn Sullivan (Auckland)

37 - Cameron Roigard (Counties Manukau)

32 - Larenz Tupaea-Thomsen (Counties Manukau)

22 - Campbell Morgan-Parata (Tasman)

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.