Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Domestic Competitions semifinals confirmed

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

Only two weeks of competition are left to play in the Mitre 10 Cup, Mitre 10 Heartland Championship and Farah Palmer Cup, with semifinalists confirmed today.

It took until the very last match of regular season to confirm the last of the 24 teams that will take the field across 12 semifinals next weekend.

Tasman (Mitre 10 Cup) and Canterbury (Farah Palmer Cup) have completed the round robin unbeaten and will be favourites to carry on their form into the playoffs.

Defending champions Auckland will travel to Tasman in the Mitre 10 Cup premiership semifinals, while Wellington are set to host Canterbury, who defended the Ranfurly Shield in over-time against North Harbour earlier today.

In the championship, Bay of Plenty claim home advantage against Manawatu while Hawke’s Bay host Otago in the other playoff match.

Defending Farah Palmer Cup champions Canterbury will host a repeat of last year’s Final with Counties Manukau traveling to Christchurch for semifinal action. Auckland have completed an impressive turnaround from finishing bottom of the premiership in 2018 to hosting a semifinal against Wellington for a spot in the 2019 Final.

The Farah Palmer Cup championship semifinals see Otago host Tasman and Hawke’s Bay host competition new-comers Northland.

In the Mitre 10 Heartland Championship, defending champions Thames Valley have topped the table and host Wanganui in a repeat of last year’s Meads Cup semifinal, with North Otago playing Wairarapa Bush in the other.

The Lochore Cup semifinals see West Coast and Poverty Bay going head to head while Buller will host South Canterbury in the other.

Mitre 10 Cup Premiership semifinals

Tasman v Auckland, Saturday 19 October, kick off at 2.05pm at Lansdowne Park, Blenheim

Wellington v Canterbury, Saturday 19 October, kick off at 7.05pm at Westpac Stadium, Wellington

Mitre 10 Cup Championship semifinals

Bay of Plenty v Manawatu, Friday 18 October, kick off 7.35pm at Rotorua International Stadium, Rotorua

Hawke’s Bay v Otago, Saturday 19 October, kick off 4.35pm at McLean Park, Napier

Farah Palmer Cup Premiership semifinals (both semifinals live on Sky Sports)

Auckland v Wellington, Saturday 19 October, kick off 12.05pm at Eden Park, Auckland

Canterbury v Counties Manukau, Sunday 20 October, kick off 2.05pm at Rugby Park, Christchurch

Farah Palmer Cup Championship semifinals

Otago v Tasman, Saturday 19 October, kick off TBC at Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin (live streamed)

Hawke’s Bay v Northland, Saturday 19 October, kick off 2.05pm at McLean Park, Napier (televised live on Sky Sports)

Mitre 10 Heartland Championship - Meads Cup semifinals (venues and kick off times TBC)

Thames Valley v Wanganui, Saturday 19 October

North Otago v Wairarapa Bush, Saturday 19 October

Mitre 10 Heartland Championship - Lochore Cup semifinals (venues and kick off times TBC)

West Coast v Poverty Bay, Saturday 19 October

Buller v South Canterbury, Saturday 19 October

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.