Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Otago Sparks name domestically contracted players

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

The SBS Bank Otago Sparks have named their nine players to be offered women’s domestic playing contracts for the 2019-20 season.

The new contracts are a feature of the Women’s Master Agreement announced last month and provide players with financial support to reimburse them for preparation and playing time spent during a busy summer schedule.

Otago Cricket manager of performance and talent Simon Forde said the new domestic contracts were another positive step forward for the women’s game in New Zealand.

‘’I am certain players will see that there is now a serious pathway beginning to emerge in the women’s game which will inspire them to keep playing the game they enjoy," he said.

"Women’s cricket will grow and we need to ensure that we are providing the necessary support and playing opportunities to ensure that athletes have the opportunity to develop - contracts are a part of this."

Otago’s three centrally contracted WHITE FERNS - Suzie Bates, Hayley Jensen and Katey Martin - will join the nine domestically contracted players to form the nucleus of the team for this season.

The Sparks get their campaign underway in the Hallyburton Johnstone Shield against the champion Central Hinds on November 16.

SBS Bank Otago Sparks domestic contracts

Emma Black

Caitlin Blakely

Ella Brown

Eden Carson

Millie Cowan

Georgia Clarke

Olivia Gain

Bhagya Herath

Bella James

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.