Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Thrilling playoffs in store at TECT National Sevens

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

Day One of the TECT National Sevens lived up to expectations with plenty of thrills and dynamic rugby across 42 matches.

Play off positions were finalised, with tantalising match-ups confirmed for Tauranga Domain tomorrow.

In the men’s division, Auckland went through the day unbeaten, averaging more than 28 points a match to boast the best attacking statistics. In Pool B, winners Waikato based their play on a strong defensive game, also going through unbeaten and conceding just 12 points in their three matches.

Surprise package Hawke’s Bay topped Pool C, while it took until the very last match of the day to determine positions in Pool D, Taranaki claiming top spot courtesy of superior points difference.

Defending champions Tasman, Canterbury, Southland and hosts Bay of Plenty will all progress to Cup quarterfinals on Day Two, finishing second in their respective pools.

Counties Manukau, who have been in three of the last four TECT National Sevens finals will not have the opportunity to continue their dominant run, losing to Auckland and Canterbury in pool play to go through to the Bowl quarterfinals.

Their female counterparts pulled off the upset of the day, defeating reigning champions Manawatu in their last pool match, with a try after the full-time whistle to win 24-21. Counties Manukau and Waikato progress as the only two unbeaten teams from Day One, while Auckland also topped their pool despite dropping a match to Bay of Plenty.

Otago, Wellington and Canterbury round out the women’s Cup quarterfinals.

Tasman’s Jessica Drummond was the top try scorer on Day One, across both men’s and women’s, crossing for five tries. Manawatu’s Hayley Hutana was the leading women’s point scorer with 29, while Tiaan Falcon of Hawke’s Bay top scored for the men with 25.

Seven pieces of silverware will be handed out on day two, from the Shield winners through to men's and women's Cup champions. Also up for grabs are the Anna Richards Cup and Joe Tauiwi Memorial Trophy for the women's and men's Player of the Tournament.

Men's Cup Quarterfinals

Auckland v Tasman

Taranaki v Southland

Hawke's Bay v Bay of Plenty

Waikato v Canterbury

Women's Cup Quarterfinals

Counties Manukau v Canterbury

Wellington v Bay of Plenty

Auckland v Manawatu

Waikato v Otago

Men's Bowl Quarterfinals

Counties Manukau v South Canterbury

North Harbour v Thames Valley

Wellington v Manawatu

Otago v Wairarapa Bush

Women's Bowl Semifinals

Hawke's Bay v Taranaki

Tasman v North Harbour

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.