Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Canterbury retain ITM Cup for sixth consecutive year

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

A dominant second half performance at a windswept Westpac Stadium provided the edge for Canterbury as they outplayed the Wellington Lions 29-13 to be crowned 2013 ITM Cup Premiership champions.

It is Canterbury's sixth consecutive title; an achievement unmatched by any other provincial team.

Wellington went into the half-time break confident, leading 10-7 however exemplary defence from Canterbury, sustained attack and the ability to take advantage of Wellington's errors ensured the tables were turned in the second half.

New Zealand Rugby Chairman Mike Eagle congratulated both teams on a fitting finale to a compelling competition.

"Canterbury and Wellington competed well all season, providing great, entertaining rugby and tonight was no different. Congratulations to both teams for making the final.

"In the end it came down to a great second half performance from Canterbury, aided by a wealth of experience in the side and great defence, that ensures the ITM Cup stays In Christchurch for a record sixth year. Well done to Scott Robertson and the Canterbury side on their historic win.

"The conditions certainly weren't easy for either team but the sizable Wellington crowd witnessed a great sporting contest between two sides who certainly gave it their all."

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us through our contact form if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.