Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Football: Home ties for former finalists

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

Home fixtures for two former finalists standout among the ASB Women’s Knockout Cup Round 1 matches drawn on Wednesday.

After the Northern Region first round was completed over the weekend, 16 teams from the Central, Mainland and Football South regions will battle it out over the weekend of May 9-10 for the remaining places in the second round.

Champions in 2013, Christchurch club Coastal Spirit will host Universities AFC in their bid to reach the last 16 while Wairarapa United, finalists in 1999 and 2000, will play host to Valeron Wanderers in their round one clash.

Petone FC, beaten finalists in four straight years from 1995-1998, will face a trip to Palmerston North’s Massey University while current Central League leaders Seatoun AFC travel to Wellington United.

In Dunedin, Football South Premier League leaders Dunedin Technical travel to Queenstown Rovers while Otago University host Roslyn Wakari AFC.

The first round of the Northern Region was played over the weekend with 2014 champions Glenfield Rovers and runners-up Forrest Hill Milford receiving first round byes along with 2010 winners Claudelands Rovers.

Fencibles United AFC, Eastern Suburbs AFC, Western Springs AFC, Papakura City FC and 2012 champions Three Kings United progressed from their first round encounters.

ASB Women’s Knockout Cup 2015 - Round 1

May 9-10

Central Region

Wairarapa Utd v Valeron Wanderers FC

Massey Women’s v Petone FC

Upper Hutt City v Palmerston North Marist

Wellington Utd v Seatoun AFC

Mainland Region

Coastal Spirit v Universities AFC

Parklands Utd v Cashmere Technical

Football South Region

Queenstown Rovers v Dunedin Technical AFC

Otago University v Roslyn Wakari AFC

Northern Region

Played April 24/26

Fencibles Utd AFC 7-0 Metro FC (half: 6-0)

FEN: Betsy Hassett 3, Rosie White 3, Maxine Rawnsley

Three Kings Utd 3-1 North Force (half: 2-0)

TKU: Tessa Leong 2, Jessie Mathews


Papatoetoe AFC 0-7 Western Springs AFC (half: 0-3)

WS: Rebecca Tegg 2, Lauren Mathis 2, Melanie Gooch, Lily Rose Dyer, Becky Hawker

Eastern Suburbs AFC 7-0 Ellerslie AFC (half: 6-0)

ES: Grace Jale 3, Jacqui Hand 2, Jade Parris, Nicole Mettam

Papakura City FC 15-0 Pukekohe AFC (half: 6-0)

PAP: Ashley Nevey 5, Hannah Littlewood 4, Savarna Asafo 2, Jasmin Elson 2, Sarah Bond, Sophie McLachlan

Byes to Round 2: Claudelands Rovers, Forrest Hill Milford Utd AFC, Glenfield Rovers

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.