Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Gillette Cup Elite Squad To Play New Zealand Cricket Legends

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media
Gillette Cup Elite Squad To Play New Zealand Cricket Legends

New Zealand's top schoolboy cricketers will take on some of New Zealand's former greats when the Gillette Cup Elite squad assembles in Wellington tomorrow for a 40 over match against a Wanderers XI in Upper Hutt.

Former Black Caps paceman Simon Doull will spearhead the Wanderers attack while legendary opener and current New Zealand selector John Wright will lead the batting line up.

Wright will be hopeful of not being too outshone by his son Harry, who will line up in the Gillette Cup Elite squad.

The Gillette Cup Elite Squad was chosen after last year's Gillette Cup secondary school's cricket tournament in Palmerston North and features some of the best young cricketers in the country.

The members of the Elite Squad are also in contention for a new coaching initiative from New Zealand Cricket which will see around 50 up and comers identified and given one on one coaching and guidance over the year as they strive for higher honours in the future.

The squad will assemble at Westpac Stadium tomorrow morning for a high performance clinic before heading to Upper Hutt for the match against the Wanderers.

The Wanderers side will have a lot to prove against their young counterparts after suffering a huge loss last year in the annual fixture, however with Wright and Doull's inclusion the Wanderers will have no excuses this year.

Gillette Cup Elite Squad:

Josh Tasman-Jones (Westlake Boys High School), Craig Cachopa (Westlake Boys High School), Zac Scott (Tauranga Boys' College), Nick Evemy (Tauranga Boys' College), Ben Smith (Wanganui Collegiate), Abhi Ganugapati (Palmerston North Boys High School), Adam Milne (Palmerston North Boys High School), Harry Wright (Wellington College), Matt Henry (St Bede's College), Andrew Ireland (St Bede's College) Chamika Gajanayaka (Wellington College) Charlie McLean (Wellington College).

Wanderers XI:

John Wright, Simon Doull, Erv McSweeney, Evan Gray, Robert Kennedy, Brett Williams, Simon Baker, Tim Boyer, Stephen Mather, Rhys Morgan, Michael Best, Andrew Wilson, Shane Deitz.

Match starts at 12pm at Barton Oval, Upper Hutt

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.