Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

The Kenny Perry Poser

Read More:
Contributor:
Stan Sutherland
Stan Sutherland
Kenny Perry

If you’ve heard about it but not seen it, here’s a link to the YouTube video of the Kenny Perry incident.

Lawrence Donegan of The Observer is the latest to cover the alleged rules infringement by Kenny Perry which has created a huge amount of interest among golfers on the internet.

Donnegan writes:

“Earlier that day Russell was one of the PGA officials who sat down with Perry and watched a two-minute video clip showing the Kentuckian preparing to hit a chip shot on the first extra play-off hole at the FBR Open in Arizona in February.”

That’s right February, and the golfing community on the internet is still going on about it.

Sounds to me like someone’s got it in for Kenny but who?

How come nothing is said about it for weeks and now the issue has taken on a life of its own? Something smells and it ain’t the Kentuckian eating fried chicken.

“Huggie”-John Huggan of The Scotsman can always been relied upon to stir the pot and he was the first person to draw my attention to the incident.

“John Huggan: Playing by the rules, unless your name is Kenny Perry

“Huggie” writes, “Still don't quite understand why Perry wasn't penalised, though. He's a lucky lad.”

And I’d agree.

If he’d been playing in our regular foursome, a four letter word would have been used, followed by “off.”

Nevertheless as the good book (No not “The Rules of Golf.”) says.

“Judge not, that ye be not judged.”

And “Huggie” is far from being judgmental in this and other articles he’s written.

But he does give John Paramor a hard time.

“…according to the European Tour's much-respected chief referee, John Paramor, his actions exhibited no obvious "intent" to break the rules.”

No obvious intent to break the rules, now where is that in the other good book?

Is it possible a precedent has been created and in the future. “No obvious intent to break the rules” can be used in one’s defense?

A couple of weeks ago during the deciding Pennant’s match at Muriwai, a Muriwai golfer repaired a pitch mark which was in front of his ball and short of the green and as us readers of the good golfing book know you can repair ball pitch marks on the green but thou shalt not when the pitch mark is off the green.

Alas John Paramor wasn’t present to come to the aid of the Muriwai golfer who lost this very important game on the last green and Muriwai missed out on winning the Pennant trophy.

They say but dunno who they are, “The road to hell is paved with good intentions.”

I feel sure Kerry Perry did not intend to allegedly break the rules and John Paramor didn’t intend to bring a new word into the golfing lexicon and I don’t intend to discuss the matter any further.

You see where I come from the guys of The Gentlemen Golfers of Edinburgh needed only 13 rules.

Life was much simpler then. And no, in spite of what my physical appearance may suggest, I wasn’t there in 1744 when they created their 13 rules.

All articles and comments on Voxy.co.nz have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.