Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Kiwi Squad To Take On The World

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

JULY 10 2009: The final squad to represent New Zealand against the rest of the world has been announced.

The initial New Zealand squad of 32 to tackle the World Junior Motocross Championships at Taupo on August 15-16 has now been whittled down to 24 riders.

Motorcycling New Zealand CEO Paul Pavletich said it was extremely hard for the selection panel to choose the squad in the first place but even more difficult to cut eight more names from that line-up.

"It is appropriate to thank MNZ junior motocross commissioner Bryan Davidson and the other selectors for all their tireless work to date. They've all put in an enormous amount of effort," said Pavletich.

Even those in the final Kiwi squad are not guaranteed a start in the championship races proper with each of them still required to survive a stiff qualifying process at the two-day event.

More than 120 of the world's elite riders are expected to arrive from the United States, Australia and Europe to contest the RoadCraft-sponsored event and it is likely that only the absolute cream of New Zealand riders will get to line up for the chance to gain world championship points.

This is the first time a world motocross championship event has been staged in New Zealand and represents a huge coup for the host Taupo Motorcycle Club.

It was this club that that successfully hosted the International Six Days Enduro event in November 2006.

New Zealand has a proud history of producing world class motocross riders, individuals such as Ben Townley, Josh Coppins, Daryl Hurley, Cody Cooper, Scott Columb, Katherine Prumm, Tony Cooksley and brothers Darryll, Shayne and Damien King.

Below are the New Zealand team riders (in alphabetical order by Christian name):

85cc class:

Aiden Kiff (Silverdale) Brandon Tipene (Auckland) Callum Moore (Featherston) Campbell King (Brighton) Courtney Duncan (Palmerston, Otago) Dane Russell (Ngaruawahia) Dion Picard (Atiamuri) Garth Amrein (Katikati) (reserve) Haki Waller (Feilding) James Anderson (Foxton) (reserve) Logan Blackburn (Tauranga) Micah McGoldrick (Rangiora)

125cc class:

Cameron Dillon (Taupo), Craig Smith (Christchurch) Ethan Martens (Waitakere) Hamish Dobbyn (Warkworth) Isaiah McGoldrick (Rangiora) (reserve) John Phillips (Rotorua) Jonathan Martelli (Reporoa) Kayne Lamont (Mangakino) Kieran Scheele (Elsthorpe) Matt Hunt (Gisborne) Mitchell Rees (Whakatane) Sam O'Callaghan (Cromwell) (reserve)

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.