Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

New Zealand Under 20 squad named

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media
New Zealand Under 20 squad named

Coach Rob Penney has selected his New Zealand Under 20 squad to travel to South Africa next month for the IRB Junior World Championship.

The squad was announced by New Zealand Rugby Union President Bryan Williams at the Under 20 trial camp in Palmerston North today.

Rob Penney said the trial saw 46 in camp, vying for a spot in the travelling squad of 28.

"All the boys put in a really good effort, and the trial game held yesterday gave us a lot to think about.

"I'm really happy with the squad we have selected with a lot of young men putting their hands up for national team honours.

"We're really excited about heading to South Africa now to defend our title," he said.

The 2012 New Zealand Under 20 team is:

Pita Ahki

Fraser Armstrong

Hugh Blake

Ambrose Curtis

Scott Eade

Jason Emery

Bryn Hall

Marnus Hanley

Nathan Harris

Jake Heenan

Milford Keresoma

Jonathon Kitto

Joe Latta

Christian Lloyd

Taniela Manu

Rhys Marshall

Martin McKenzie

Ope Peleseuma

Glenn Preston

Matt Proctor

Tuki Raimona

Nick Ross

Eric Sione

Junior Tafa Va'a

Jordan Taufua

Jimmy Tupou

Ofa Tuungafasi

Ihaia West

Those unavailable for selection are Auckland's Gnafatasi Sua (injury) and TJ Perenara (Wellington) and Sam Cane (Bay of Plenty) due to Investec Super Rugby commitments.

The team will assemble again in Auckland on Friday 24 May ahead of travelling to South Africa on Wednesday 30 May.

The New Zealand Under 20 opens their tournament against Samoa on 4 June at Danie Craven Stadium in Stellenbosch.

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us through our contact form if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.