Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Newcastle and Souths players added to Kiwis train-on squad

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

The South Sydney pair of Issac Luke and Bryson Goodwin, along with Jeremy Smith from the Newcastle Knights, have been added to the Kiwis train-on squad for the Rugby League World Cup.

There are now 30 players in the squad, with a number of World Cup contenders also involved in Sunday’s NRL Grand Final between the Manly Sea Eagles and the Sydney Roosters.

2013 KIWIS TRAIN-ON SQUAD (at October 2):

Brisbane Broncos: Alex Glenn, Josh Hoffman

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs: Greg Eastwood, Krisnan Inu, Sam Kasiano, Sam Perrett, Frank Pritchard

Melbourne Storm: Jesse Bromwich, Tohu Harris, Kevin Proctor

Newcastle Knights: Jeremy Smith

North Queensland Cowboys: Jason Taumalolo, Antonio Winterstein

South Sydney Rabbitohs: Bryson Goodwin, Issac Luke

St George Illawarra Dragons: Bronson Harrison, Jason Nightingale

Penrith Panthers: Lewis Brown, Sam McKendry, Dean Whare

Vodafone Warriors: Shaun Johnson, Thomas Leuluai, Kevin Locke, Simon Mannering, Ben Matulino, Sam Rapira, Elijah Taylor, Manu Vatuvei

Wests Tigers: Adam Blair, Tim Simona

A Kiwis squad of 24 for the Rugby League World Cup will be named at a press conference in Auckland on Tuesday, October 8.


October 20 - vs Cook Islands (Keepmoat Stadium, Doncaster)

October 27 - vs Samoa (Halliwell Jones Stadium, Warrington)

November 1 - vs France (Parc des Sports, Avignon)

November 8 - vs Papua New Guinea (Headingley Carnegie, Leeds)

November 15-17 - Quarter-finals

November 23 - Semi-finals (Double-header at Wembley Stadium, London)

November 30 - Final (Old Trafford, Manchester)

Every match from the Rugby League World Cup will be shown live on SKY Sport in New Zealand.

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us through our contact form if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.