Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Pakistan To Bat First V NZ

Read More:
Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

Napier, Dec 11 NZPA - Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat first in the third and final cricket test against New Zealand at McLean Park here today.

New Zealand made two changes from the side beaten by 141 runs in Wellington last week.

Opening batsman BJ Watling replaces the axed Peter Fulton and will make his test debut while Grant Elliott has also been dropped from the middle order to accommodate an extra seam bowler, Tim Southee.

Fast bowler Iain O'Brien plays his 22nd and final test before retiring to England.

Pakistan, who levelled the series in Wellington after losing the series opener in Dunedin by 32 runs, also made one alteration, with middle order batsman Shoaib Malik being replaced by Faisal Iqbal.

New Zealand: Daniel Vettori (captain), Tim McIntosh, BJ Watling, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Daniel Flynn, Brendon McCullum, Tim Southee, Daryl Tuffey, Iain O'Brien, Chris Martin.

Pakistan: Mohammad Yousuf (captain), Imran Farhat, Salman Butt, Misbah-ul-Haq, Umar Akmal, Faisal Iqbal, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Aamer, Umar Gul, Danish Kaneria, Mohammad Asif.

Umpires: Rudi Koertzen (South Africa), Billy Doctrove (West Indies); third umpire Simon Taufel (Australia).

NZPA AKL cb md

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.