Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Rugby Award Nominees Named

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

Wellington, Dec 4 NZPA - All Blacks captain Richie McCaw, star first five-eighth Dan Carter and Taranaki hooker Andrew Hore were today named as nominees for the rugby player of the year award.

The women's player of the year nominees are Kelly Brazier and Carla Hohepa, both of Otago, and Auckland's Victoria Heighway.

The awards. to be named in Auckland on December 17, will be judged by former All Blacks captains Andy Leslie and Graham Mourie, rugby commentator Grant Nisbett and former All Black Brent Anderson.

The nominees are:

NZRU age grade player of the year: Sam Cane (Bay of Plenty), Aaron Cruden (Manawatu), Zac Guildford (Hawke's Bay), Winston Stanley (Auckland).

Richard Crawshaw Memorial sevens player of the year: Carla Hohepa (Otago), Zar Lawrence (Bay of Plenty), Julian Savea (Wellington).

NZRU women's player of the year: Kelly Brazier, Victoria Heighway, Carla Hohepa.

The Charles Monro rugby volunteer of the year: Blair Crawford (Otago), David Hickey (Auckland), Peter Te Tai (Southland).

Super 14 player of the year: Aled de Malmanche (Chiefs), Malili (Mils) Muliaina (Chiefs),

Ma'a Nonu (Hurricanes).

Tom French Memorial Maori player of the year: Zac Guildford (Hawke's Bay, Ngati Kahungunu),

Cory Jane (Wellington, Ngati Kahungunu), Isaac Ross (Canterbury, Kai Tahu).

Heartland Championship player of the year: Jon Dampney (Mid Canterbury), Sione Ngatu (Poverty Bay), Asaeli Tikoirotuma (Wanganui).

Air NZ Cup player of the year: Josh Bekhuis (Southland), Mike Delany (Bay of Plenty),

Zac Guildford (Hawke's Bay).

Team of the Year: Canterbury (Air New Zealand Cup), New Zealand under-20, Wanganui (Heartland Championship).

New Zealand rugby coach of the year: Ian Foster (Chiefs), Guy Lennox (Wanganui), Rob Penney (Canterbury), Dave Rennie (New Zealand under-20).

NZRU referee of the year: winner named on the night

Kelvin R Tremain Memorial player of the year: Daniel Carter, Andrew Hore, Richie McCaw.

Steinlager Salver for an outstanding contribution to New Zealand rugby recipient: named on the night.


All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.