Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Springboks Include Nine New Caps In Touring Squad

Read More:
Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media
Springboks Include Nine New Caps In Touring Squad

Pretoria, South Africa, Oct 31 Reuters - South Africa coach Peter de Villiers included nine new caps in his squad to tour Europe in November as part of his long-term planning to keep the Springboks at the top of world rugby.

Blue Bulls scrumhalf Heini Adams, utility back Francois Hougaard, hooker Bandise Maku and flank Dewald Potgieter, Western Province centre Juan de Jongh, Natal Sharks lock Alistair Hargreaves, Free State Cheetahs number eight Ashley Johnson and Griqualand West flank Davon Raubenheimer and fullback Riaan Viljoen are the new caps.

"We're number one in the world and we seriously want to stay there. We are looking ahead so we can stay number one for many years," De Villiers told a news conference on Saturday.

"We don't want to be caught with our pants down when the first-stringers all leave the scene at the same time. There's still life after the 2011 World Cup and we want to leave a legacy for whoever takes over.

"It will be make or break for some of these new players and I want to see whether they have reached their ceiling or whether they can still grow."

Flank Juan Smith was not considered due to injury, while centre Jean de Villiers and fullback Francois Steyn, who are playing overseas, are the other members of the victorious Tri-Nations squad who will not be on tour.

The Springboks play tests against France in Toulouse on Nov. 13, against Italy in Udine on Nov. 21 and Six Nations champions Ireland in Dublin on Nov. 28.

De Villiers also announced that hooker Chiliboy Ralepelle, the first black player to captain the Springboks, would lead the midweek team in warm-up matches.

Squad: John Smit, Victor Matfield, Andries Bekker, Bakkies Botha, Heinrich Br|ssow, Schalk Burger, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Alistair Hargreaves, Ashley Johnson, Ryan Kankowski, Bandise Maku, Tendai Mtawarira, Dewald Potgieter, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Davon Raubenheimer, Danie Rossouw, Pierre Spies, Gurthro Steenkamp, Heinke van der Merwe, Heini Adams, Meyer Bosman, Juan de Jongh, Fourie du Preez, Jaque Fourie, Bryan Habana, Francois Hougaard, Adrian Jacobs, Zane Kirchner, Odwa Ndungane, Jongikhaya Nokwe, Wynand Olivier, Ruan Pienaar, JP Pietersen, Earl Rose, Morne Steyn, Riaan Viljoen.


All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.