Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

The Super 14 Rugby - Semi Finals

Read More:
Scott Newman
Scott Newman

The Super 14 Rugby competition this year had been a close contest right to the end of the round robin. The four finalists have been determined. Three NZ franchises and one South African franchise have prevailed. Now, who will win at all from here? It will not be easy for any team!

First Seed BULLS vs. Fourth Seed CRUSADERS at Loftus Versfeld, South Africa
The Bulls have been the form team of the competition with 10 wins and only 3 losses. There is no immediate weakness to the side as they have a great balance of attacking and defensive players. They have leadership from Springbok's Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, Bryan Habana & Fourie du Preez in particular. Having the home pitch will be of great advantage for this side for this side as they are up against the best defence in the competition.
The Crusaders clawed their way into the top 4 by playing top class winning rugby. Keeping most sides out by defending right to the end of games. They have had a fair share of injuries with stars Casey Laulala, Corey Flynn and Ritchie McCaw being injured early in the competition. Team work and belief has gotten them to where they are now. They are the most winningest franchise in Super Rugby history. They are well up against it now. At least they know what they have to do with all that experience in the side.
Key Players for Bulls :- Victor Matfield, Wynand Olivier, Fourie du Preez & Morne Steyn provide the plays.
Key Players for Crusaders :- Kieran Read, Leon MacDonald, Ritchie McCaw & Stephen Brett are vital.
Prediction :- Bulls 12 or under (The Crusaders are a definite chance however the Bulls have shown that they know how to finish games under pressure at home. This will be played like a test match & will be very close. It will be a great game to watch)
Second Seed CHIEFS vs. Third Seed HURRICANES at Waikato Stadium, New Zealand
The Chiefs are in the best position in the history of the Waikato franchise to win the championship. They have home advantage and (arguably) the best backline in the competition. They play the game fast with a powerful loose trio. The team is laden with All Blacks and confidence. Brendon Leonard has outplayed all of the halfbacks in the country but has been banged up along the way. Moving forwards is not a problem for the Chiefs. They are up against one of the constant threats in the Hurricanes who are looking to go one better again.
The Hurricanes have been in this territory of making the semi finals and have all the strike power to get the job done. They play very well for long periods. Promoting an exciting brand of rugby. There is always a threat that the Wellington based franchise is going to run out and dominate the competition as that is their style. Patience and composure needs to be shown more. This side can bury teams and put them out of games and then suddenly they look mortal. Winning the first championship in Hurricanes history is a huge priority for Colin Cooper and his management.
Key Players for Chiefs :- Liam Messam, Sione Lauaki, Mils Muliaina, Brendon Leonard & Stephen Donald
Key Players for Hurricanes :- Andrew Hore, Jason Eaton, Ma'a Nonu, Piri Weepu & Conrad Smith
Prediction :- Chiefs 12 or under (I feel that this will be closer than the other semi final game. There are big match up's all over the field with the Hurricanes perhaps having the edge because of the forwards. Let's hope it is better than some of the games in the last round. The Chiefs are up against it at home. I think the Chiefs will have the measure of the Hurricanes by a few points.)
The 2009 Super 14 Rugby Team (My 1st 15 Team based on overall form)

1. Benn Robinson (Waratahs)
2. Keven Mealamu (Blues)
3. Werner Kruger (Bulls)
4. Steven Sykes (Sharks)
5. Nathan Sharpe (Force)
6. Adam Thompson (Highlanders)
7. George Smith (Brumbies)
8. Thomas Waldrom (Crusaders)
9. Rory Kockott (Sharks)
10. Morne Steyn (Bulls)
11. Lelia Masaga (Chiefs)
12. Ma'a Nonu (Hurricanes)
13. Stirling Mortlock (Brumbies)
14. Digby Ioane (Reds)
15. Drew Mitchell (Force)
16. John Smit (Sharks)
17. Ben Alexander (Brumbies)
18. Isaac Ross (Crusaders)
19. Pierre Spies (Bulls)
20. Jano Vermaak (Lions)
21. Matt Giteau (Force)
22. Isaia Toeava (Blues)

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.