Recommended NZ | Guide to Money | Gimme: Competitions - Giveaways

Third announcement of Kiwis RLWC train-on squad

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

Following the elimination of the Melbourne Storm and the Cronulla Sharks from the NRL finals series over the weekend, three Storm forwards have today been added to the Kiwis train-on squad for the Rugby League World Cup (RLWC). The three are Jesse Bromwich, Tohu Harris and Kevin Proctor.

Bromwich and Proctor were NRL grand final winners with the Storm last year, while the 21yo Harris debuted for his club just this year in the World Club Challenge. All three players represented the Kiwis against the Kangaroos in April.

There are now 27 players in the Kiwis train-on squad. The national selectors - Richie Barnett, Ivan Cleary, Stephen Kearney and Tawera Nikau - along with the convenor of selectors Tony Iro, will add to the squad as teams are eliminated from the NRL finals.

A Kiwis squad of 24 for the Rugby League World Cup will be named on October 8 at a press conference in Auckland.

2013 KIWIS TRAIN-ON SQUAD (at September 25):

Brisbane Broncos: Alex Glenn, Josh Hoffman

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs: Greg Eastwood, Krisnan Inu, Sam Kasiano, Sam Perrett, Frank Pritchard

Melbourne Storm: Jesse Bromwich, Tohu Harris, Kevin Proctor

North Queensland Cowboys: Jason Taumalolo, Antonio Winterstein

St George Illawarra Dragons: Bronson Harrison, Jason Nightingale

Penrith Panthers: Lewis Brown, Sam McKendry, Dean Whare

Vodafone Warriors: Shaun Johnson, Thomas Leuluai, Kevin Locke, Simon Mannering, Ben Matulino, Sam Rapira, Elijah Taylor, Manu Vatuvei

Wests Tigers: Adam Blair, Tim Simona

Unavailable: St George Illawarra Dragons: Gerard Beale; Wests Tigers: Benji Marshall

The Kiwis have a warm-up game against the Cook Islands in Doncaster on October 20, before they open their World Cup defence on October 27 in Warrington against Samoa. The World Cup tournament finishes at Manchester’s Old Trafford on November 30.

Every match from the Rugby League World Cup will be shown live on SKY Sport in New Zealand.


October 20 - vs Cook Islands (Keepmoat Stadium, Doncaster)

October 27 - vs Samoa (Halliwell Jones Stadium, Warrington)

November 1 - vs France (Parc des Sports, Avignon)

November 8 - vs Papua New Guinea (Headingley Carnegie, Leeds)

November 15-17 - Quarter-finals

November 23 - Semi-finals (Double-header at Wembley Stadium, London)

November 30 - Final (Old Trafford, Manchester)

All articles and comments on have been submitted by our community of users. Please notify us through our contact form if you believe an item on this site breaches our community guidelines.