Fuseworks Media

Anaesthesia community gathers in tribute to industry legend

The New Zealand anaesthesia community is set to gather in Ōtepoti Dunedin for their annual scientific meeting, in a fitting tribute to one of the country’s leading lights in patient safety and anaesthesia education.

The Aotearoa NZ Anaesthesia ASM 2023 will be held from November 9-11 at The Dunedin Centre. The theme of this year’s conference is “Impact”, acknowledging the impact of Dunedin’s own Professor John Ritchie.

Professor Ritchie was New Zealand’s first associate professor of anaesthesia, and made significant contributions to patient safety in anaesthesia and advancing the specialty and training.

Talks will explore the impact anaesthetists can have on their profession and outcomes for their patients. Among the international invited speakers headlining the conference are Professor EmeryBrown, from Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Harvard University, and Professor FrancesChung, from the University of Toronto.

Both international speakers will present on each morning of the conference. Highlights will include Professor Brown speaking on rethinking general anaesthesia, while sleep apnoea and brain health of older patients will be a particular focus for Professor Chung.

This year’s Alan Merry Oration will be presented by Professor Jo Baxter from the University of Otago, who will speak on Māori medical workforce representation.

Other sessions will focus on topics as rich and diverse as the impact of vaping products on patients, the role of viral genomics in New Zealand’s COVID-19 response, and the use of prescription cannabinoid products to treat medical conditions.

Aotearoa NZ Anaesthesia ASM 2023 Convenor Dr Priya Shanmuganathan says the annual scientific meeting is an exciting opportunity for anaesthesia practitioners to share their knowledge.

“The benefits of sharing research and experience among colleagues, both locally and internationally, have never been so crucial as in the past few years. We feel proud to be able to do this in a location that’s so significant to the history of anaesthesia in Aotearoa.”

Inspired by its namesake, the prestigious John Ritchie Prize will be awarded by the New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists for the best presentation during the meeting’s Ritchie Prize Session.

Also awarded will be the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists’ Trainee Prize, the New Zealand Anaesthetic Technicians’ Society’s Oral and Poster Prize, and the ASM Poster Prize.

The Aotearoa NZ Anaesthesia ASM 2023 is jointly convened by the New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists, the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists, and the New Zealand Anaesthetic Technicians’ Society.


Powered by Fuseworks and Truescope - Media monitoring, insights and news distribution for New Zealand organisations.