Fuseworks Media

PMA Scholarships 2023: Investing in the new generation of medical and health leaders

The Pasifika Medical Association (PMA) is pleased to announce our new cohort of scholarship recipients. Yesterday evening, PMA held an event to celebrate scholarship recipients, acknowledging their achievement of receiving a PMA Pacific Health Education Scholarship. This year, twenty-one people were awarded with a scholarship across eleven categories, valued at $140,000. The scholarships are intended with the purpose of supporting Pacific students and health professionals with tuition and study-related costs.

The scholarships come out of PMA’s Education Fund with the inclusion of two new scholarships this year; the Professor Sitaleki Finau Scholarship and the Elizabeth Powell Nursing Scholarship.

The Scholarship Cocktail Evening saw recipients surrounded by family, friends and loved ones and was a night of celebration and reflection. PMA Memberships Board Director and one of the scholarship namesakes, Abel Smith, says it is rewarding to see the scholarships continue to support students and health professionals in their pursuit of medical and health related careers.

“It is our endeavour and vision to grow and support the development of the Pacific health workforce. We maintain our commitment to investing into the new generation of leaders in medicine and health.

“We’re grateful that we can play a part in helping develop our future workforce.”

PMA Memberships Board Director, Dr Elizabeth Dunn, acknowledged the recipients for their success.

“This night belongs to the scholarship recipients and your families should be very proud. We’re committed to supporting your future careers.

“We invest in you so you’re able to go and provide exemplary care to our families and communities.”

Congratulations to the recipients of this year’s PMA Pacific Health Education Scholarships.

The Sorensen Pacific Health Scholarship

Fotunga Aohi Hoa Holikimafua

Serenity Masani Chukau

The Christina Atoa Tapu Nursing Scholarship

Leataosina Manu

Fano Asiata

The Violani ‘Ilolahia Wills Nursing Scholarship

Meleane Tauveli

Levi Fifita

The Abel Smith Nursing Scholarship

Leon Haiu

The Elizabeth Powell Nursing Scholarship

Foulagi Johnson

Delisa Lesa

The Dr Leopino Foliaki University of Auckland Scholarship

Tarah Fepulea’i

Tiare Maina Jones

George Thomas Powell

Latu Margaret-Ruth ‘Akauola

The Papa’ali’i Dr Semisi Ma’ia’i University of Otago Scholarship

Christine Ah-Him Peters

Genevieve Tuisamoa

Garrirose Tiamai Elizabeth Koteka

Aliesha Taramai

The Dr Robert Woonton Scholarship

Dr Tapairu-Ariki Susan Wilson

The Dr Sitaleki Finau Scholarship

Cloe Ke’Alohilani Posimani

The Dr Joe Williams Scholarship

Ruta Josephine Stevenson-Tuuga

The Sir Terepai Tuamure Maoate International Study Award

Dr William May


Powered by Fuseworks and Truescope - Media monitoring, insights and news distribution for New Zealand organisations.